A A
RSS

0845 0229900 Prizedirect.net Scam

Sat, Jun 30, 2007

Scams

This evening whilst i was at work I received a telephone call to my mobile phone from a number I didn’t instantly recognise - 08450229900. As I was waiting for a call from a bank I thought it may be them so when I had a break I called the number back, only to find out it was for a company called Prize Direct.

Thinking it may be a scam I hung up immediately - some of these numbers you get missed calls from redirect you to a high cost per minute number. When I got in I decided to look prizedirect.net up on the internet.

It turns out that they are a ‘game’ website. Seems that it is some sort of turn based affair played via SMS. Strangely, on the terms and conditions page they go to great lengths to explain that it is not a lottery. Why, I don’t know.

They mention something about awards for less than 10000 Euros being paid in gift certificates that allow you to buy from over 100 items in the UK World Gift Catalogue, another scam I shall be coming back to in the near future. Needless to say, this catalogue offers Siny televisions and Pinasonic electricals that are worth less than the postage costs of receiving them!

Also, under their “winning claims” section they mention that you have to apply for an award if you are a winner and then they will tell you what the award is. Their decision is final and there will be absolutely no correspondance!! Not sounding too good for prizedirect so far is it?

Ok, so next I do a whois lookup for prizedirect.net to see who is behind this obvious scam -

Whois info for, prizedirect.net:

Registrant:
Prize Direct
137 Earls Court Road
London, London W1 5QL
UK

Domain name: PRIZEDIRECT.NET

Administrative Contact:
Smith, George  icecold59@hotmail.co.uk
137 Earls Court Road
London, London W1 5QL
UK
+442073732364  Fax: +442086550202

Technical Contact:
Smith, George  icecold59@hotmail.co.uk
137 Earls Court Road
 London, London W1 5QL
 UK
+442073732364  Fax: +442086550202

Registration Service Provider:
Serverstream, support@Serverstream.net
+44 20 7517 0606
+44 20 8728 2867 (fax)
 http://www.Serverstream.net
Serverstream - Managed Hosting Services
Register1 : Low Cost Domain Names - £49 Dedicated Xeon Servers
support@Register1.net
http://www.Register1.net

Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 20-Apr-2007.
Record expires on 09-Sep-2007.
Record created on 09-Sep-2005.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS2.REGISTER1.NET 
NS1.REGISTER1.NET 
NS0.REGISTER1.NET 

Domain status: ok

Ok, so George Smith resides at Earls Court in London and has a hotmail email address. Perhaps I should send him an email and ask how his company got my ex-directory phone number in the first place. (My guess : my mobile phone operator has been illegally selling my details).

Oh hang on, London doesn’t tally up with the details on the prizedirect.net website -

ThePrizeDirect is the trading name for Casey Worldwide Ltd whose registered office is 3rd floor Omar Hodge Building, Road Town, Tortola, BVI.

Now Tortola is in the Virgin Isles, West Indies. If you search for ‘Tortola + Scam’ on Google the you will see that the place is quite famous for premium rate phone number fraud, with O2 seeming to be the operator most widely linked to it.

Searching for Casey Worldwide Ltd has yet to yield any results so I’d be interested to hear from anyone who has any experience of them.

774 views

Related Posts

  • British Government Lends Support To Identity Thieves
  • Starvation Scam : Part 1
  • Starvation Scam : Part 2
  • The Pigeon Drop Scam
  • The Chilling Effects Of Psychic Scams
  • 8 Comments »

    Comment by Benjie Gillam
    2007-07-03 07:59:48

    I received the same call a few weeks back, but never phoned them back! Good research finding, though it is quite possible that the “Administrative Contact” from whois is purely the guy who was contracted by PrizeDirect.net to register the site.

     
    Comment by admin
    2007-07-03 08:11:28

    That’s a very good point Benjie.

    I’m sure whoever is behind this ruse has been very careful in covering their tracks, hence the fact that they are operating out of Tortola.

    Comment by Jess
    2007-10-03 23:55:16

    Hey i also rang number back, but on my boyfriends’ phone! Gulp. Now he keeps getting loads of texts through from this company and it’s costing him money! Have you any idea how i can get these texts to stop?? I can’t believe i fell for the scam - i’ll be more clued up to these funky phone calls now.
    Cheers
    from Jess :-)

    Comment by Scam
    2007-10-04 00:30:03

    I believe you used to be able to unsubscribe from the texts at their website but it is down for ‘maintenance’ right now.

    So.. i’m not sure what else you can do about it at the moment - are there any clues in the texts?

    (Comments wont nest below this level)
     
     
     
    Comment by brin
    2007-10-11 17:09:12

    Casey Worldwide Ltd also trade as The Euro Lotto

    On 17 September 2007 Icstis (UK regulator for premium rate services) fined Tanla Mobile Ltd £7,500. If you look on the Icstis website at their adjudications page you will find you are the victims of a massive billing frauds that have been targeting thousands of mobile phone users for a number of years.

    The mobile operators are all taking their cut and the regulators continue to fail to refer the matter for criminal investigation. WHY?

    Comment by Scam
    2007-10-12 00:51:41

    Because they are all in it together ;)

     
     
    Comment by Cee
    2007-10-11 22:54:13

    Hiya…..i have just recently started receiving these text…..how can i STOP them. Please help, as i am a student and everytime i try to use my phone. It says its low on credit!

    Thnaks in advance

    Comment by brin
    2007-10-12 13:34:08

    hi Cee
    There should be contact details in the text of the “company” that sent them. There should also be instructions for stopping them. I’m assuming your messages don’t contain this.

    You should contact your network operator and ask for the contact details of company who are sending them.
    ………………………….
    “ThePrizeDirect is the trading name for Casey Worldwide Ltd”
    …………………..
    Registrant:
    Casey Worldwide Ltd
    3rd Floor, Omar Hodge Building, Road Town,
    Tortola, CR0 5HF
    IO

    Domain name: CASEYWORLDWIDEOFFICE.COM

    Administrative Contact:
    Le Length, Simon icecold59@hotmail.co.uk
    3rd Floor, Omar Hodge Building, Road Town,
    Tortola, CR0 5HF
    IO
    293838495003
    ……………………..
    notice the same e-mail address
    do some googling and they appear to link
    to:
    …………………….. http://www.forums.agriya.com/member.php?u=317
    instant messaging
    icecold59@hotmail.co.uk
    Home Page:
    http://www.xero9.com
    …………………
    Xero 9 Ltd hmmm! Icstis know them well
    …………
    Domain name: xero9.com

    Registrant Contact:
    Xero 9 Ltd
    John O’Sullivan (Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com)
    ……………………..
    if anyone wants more info on this they could ask on The Scream Forum/Telcos/General Telcos

    I wish you all well and don’t let them get away with it

     
     
    Name (required)
    E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
    URI
    Subscribe to comments via email
    Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
    You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.

    Trackback responses to this post

      • Scam : Update : Razorianfly.com has an alternative, and comprehensive, analysis of this scam on their site.
      • Scam : I’m sure the military conduct many strange experiments…
      • Scam : Grrrrrr, you’ve given the answer away now :(
      • Scam : Surely marketing is all about adding more value to a product than it would otherwise warrant isn’t it?
      • Peter : I thought the film of the Philadelphia Experiment was total pants but wouldn’t be surprised if the military actually had...
      • Peter : I read this on CNN I think it was. Unbelieveable but true!

        Can you make money selling the Apple Patch Diet?

        View Results

        Loading ... Loading ...

    You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

    Fake perfumes arn’t the bargain they seem.

    You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

    Remembering Lockerbie 20 years on.

    You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

    More on the Internet Explorer flaw.

    You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

    The tragic case of Megan Meier who committed suicide after being bullied through MySpace.

    You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

    The 2-faced kitten is NOT a hoax!

    Categories

    Top Commentators

      • Dionne Collins (3)
      • Peter (3)
      • Col (1)
      • Pete (1)
      • JC (1)
      • Dawn (1)
      • Tilly (1)
      • Xan (1)
      • Richard (1)
      • Kid with hair (1)