A A

Malicious Ecards Spread Viruses

Wed, Oct 10, 2007

Scams

A while back I wrote about how ecards can be used for both phishing and for entering malicious code onto a recipient’s computer.

One such email is displayed below - the website links are live in the original, and designed to be clicked by the person reading the email notification. Doing so does not lead to an ecard for you read though.

 Subject : You have just received a virtual postcard from a family member!

You can pick up your postcard at the following web address: http://www2.postcards.org/?a91-valets-cloud-31337

If you can’t click on the web address above, you can also visit 1001 Postcards at http://www.postcards.org/postcards/ and enter your pickup code, which is: a91-valets-cloud-mad (Your postcard will be available for 60 days.)

Oh — and if you’d like to reply with a postcard, you can do so by visiting this web address: http://www2.postcards.org/

(Or you can simply click the “reply to this postcard” button beneath your postcard!)

We hope you enjoy your postcard, and if you do, please take a moment to send a few yourself!

Regards,

1001 Postcards

http://www.postcards.org/postcards/

ecards and viruses

Instead, the links point to servers that host a whole range of nasty and malicious malware, including more recently the Storm Trojan which is designed to hijack the computers it infects, in order to allow them to be used in a bot network. Zombified computers in such a bot relay can be used for sending out spam emails from your ip address or for even worse purposes!

Of course a lot of ecard sites are quite genuine and can be tremendous fun. Just think carefully before opening up any emails from such sites that you have not heard of and check hyperlinks in emails very carefully to ensure they are taking you where you think they are.

Share and Enjoy:
  • StumbleUpon
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Technorati

258 views

If you enjoyed this post, get free updates via RSS or EMAIL

4 Comments »

Comment by Dionne Collins
2007-10-10 13:08:20

Scam, do you know your site was down for a while earlier?

Comment by Scam
2007-10-10 13:11:00

Yes I am - it’s had 2 short outages in the last 12 hours or so.

I wish I could afford a VPS, but for now, I am just trying to sort something out with my host as I appear to be on their worst server.

Thanks for letting me know anyway Dionne.

 
 
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Subscribe to comments via email
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.


Trackback responses to this post

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

Video of ‘The Turk‘ chess hoax.

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

Do you believe in ghosts? This video clip may confine them to Halloween and your imagination.

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

Identity Theft isn’t really funny.

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

One week after debunking the death of Miley Cyrus and the hoaxes continue..

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

Clever take on 9/11 conspiracies.

Categories

Top Commentators

  • Pink Biz (9)
  • Jay (7)
  • Dionne Collins (7)
  • Aruna (6)
  • James (5)
  • John Titor (4)
  • Col (2)
  • Balls (2)
  • ET (2)
  • Mark (1)